Proceedings

of the

Honourable House of Assembly Session of 2018-2019

No. 22

Friday, 7th June, 2019

Members Present: His Honour the Speaker, C. Walton Brown, Lt. Col. David A. Burch, Derrick V. Burgess, E. David G. Burt, Wayne M. Caines, L. Craig Cannonier, Zane J.S. De Silva, Curtis L. Dickinson, Thomas C. Famous, Lovitta F. Foggo, Tinee S. Furbert, Wayne L. Furbert, Susan E. Jackson, Dennis J. Lister III, Renee D.L. Ming, Trevor G. Moniz, R. Scott Pearman, Diallo V.S. Rabain, Sylvan D. Richards, Walter H. Roban, Leah K. Scott, Michael J. Scott, W. Lawrence A. Scott, N. H. Cole Simons, Jamahl S. Simmons, Scott A. Simmons, Ben A. Smith, H. Kim E. Swan, Neville S. Tyrrell, Michael A. Weeks, Kim N. Wilson.

10:02 a.m.

Prayers

Minutes of the Meeting of May 31st, 2019 were confirmed.

HIS HONOUR THE SPEAKER announced that Mrs. J. J. Atherden, Mrs. P.J. Gordon-Pamplin, Mr. M.H. Dunkley and Mr. R.P. Commissiong will be absent from today's meeting.

10:03 a.m.

Statements by Ministers and Junior Ministers.

MR. E.D.G. BURT read a Ministerial Statement entitled "Establishment of a Commission of Inquiry into Historic Losses of Citizens' Property in Bermuda".

MR. E.D.G. BURT read a Ministerial Statement entitled "FinTech Business Unit Education Initiative Update".

MR. W.H. ROBAN read a Ministerial Statement entitled "The Bill Entitled: The Electricity Amendment Act 2019".

LT. COL. D.A. BURCH read a Ministerial Statement entitled "The West End Development Corporation".

MR. W.M. CAINES read a Ministerial Statement entitled "Exercise Trade Winds".

MR. W.M. CAINES read a Ministerial Statement entitled "Hurricane Season".

MR. Z.J.S. DE SILVA read a Ministerial Statement entitled "The New Bermuda Championship – A PGA TOUR Event".

10:40 a.m.

Question Period.

MR. L.C. CANNONIER asked a question to MR. E.D.G. BURT on his Ministerial Statement entitled "Establishment of a Commission of Inquiry into Historic Losses of Citizens' Property in Bermuda".

MS. S.E. JACKSON asked a question to LT. COL. D.A. BURCH on his Ministerial Statement entitled "The West End Development Corporation".

MR. L.C. CANNONIER asked a question to MR. Z.J.S. DE SILVA on his Ministerial Statement entitled "The New Bermuda Championship – A PGA TOUR Event".

MR. L.C. CANNONIER asked a supplementary question.

MR. L.C. CANNONIER asked a second supplementary question.

MR. S.D. RICHARDS asked a question to MR. W.M. CAINES on his Ministerial Statement entitled "Exercise Trade Winds".

MR. S.D. RICHARDS asked a supplementary question.

10:46 a.m.

Congratulatory and /or Obituary Speeches: (Please refer to the House Hansard)

11:21 a.m.

Introduction of Bills

MR. W.H. ROBAN introduced and read for the first time by its title a Bill entitled the "Electricity Amendment Act 2019"

11:22 a.m.

Orders of the Day

Orders number 1 to 4 inclusive on the Order Paper were carried over.

MR. Z.J.S. DE SILVA moved that consideration be now given to the following Resolution:

"WHEREAS the Government undertook in the 2017 Speech from the Throne to "conduct a thorough review of transportation and (to) produce a Green Paper on the future of transport in Bermuda that will provide various options for modernization, which also takes into account the needs of the differently-abled;

AND WHEREAS the Government recognizes that technology is modernizing transportation globally and that Bermuda must examine those trends when taking into account the future of public and private transportation;

BE IT RESOLVED THAT this Honourable House supports the recommendations and priorities set out in The Green Paper on Transport 2019."

11:42 a.m. – MS. L.K. SCOTT

12:10 p.m. – MR. H.K.E. SWAN

12:30 p.m.

MR. Z.J.S. DE SILVA moved that the House do now adjourn for lunch, which was agreed to.

2:00 p.m.

House resumes.

2:00 p.m. – MR. H.K.E. SWAN, continued

2:12 p.m. - MR. L.C. CANNONIER

2:42 p.m. – MR. W.L.A. SCOTT

2:55 p.m. – MR. T.G. MONIZ

3:23 p.m. – MS. R.D.L. MING

3:49 p.m. – MR. N.H.C. SIMONS

4:21 p.m. – MS. T.S. FURBERT

4:50 p.m. – MR. B.A. SMITH

5:08 p.m. – MR. R.S. PEARMAN

5:16 p.m. – MR. T.C. FAMOUS

5:41 p.m. – MR. D.V. BURGESS

6:03 p.m. – MR. N.S. TYRRELL

6:27 p.m. – MR. M.J. SCOTT

6:38 p.m. – MR. Z.J.S. DE SILVA

MR. Z.J.S. DE SILVA moved that the said Resolution be approved, which was agreed to.

6:55 p.m.

MR. W.H. ROBAN moved that the House do now adjourn, which was agreed to.

6:56 p.m. – MR. D.V.S. RABAIN

7:07 p.m. – MR. N.H.C. SIMONS

7:18 p.m. – MR. K.H.E. SWAN

7:40 p.m. – MR. T.C. FAMOUS

7:55 p.m. – MR. S.D. RICHARDS

8:15 p.m. – MR. Z.J.S. DE SILVA

8:31 p.m. – MR. W.M. CAINES

8:53 p.m. – MR. L.C. CANNONIER

9:11 p.m. – MR. E.D.G. BURT

9:21 p.m.

The House adjourned until Friday, 21st June 2019 at 10:00 a.m.