Proceedings

of the

Special Joint Sitting of the Legislature in Honour of the late C. Walton Brown, JP, MP

Friday, October 11, 2019

Members Present: Lt. Col. David A. Burch, Derrick V. Burgess, E. David Burt, Wayne M. Caines, L. Craig Cannonier, Rolf P. Commissiong, Zane J.S. De Silva, Curtis L. Dickinson, Michael H. Dunkley, Thomas C. Famous, Lovitta F. Foggo, Tinee S. Furbert, Wayne L. Furbert, Patricia J. Gordon-Pamplin, Susan E. Jackson, Dennis J. Lister III, Renee D.L. Ming, Trevor G. Moniz, R. Scott Pearman, Sylvan D. Richards, Leah K. Scott, Michael J. Scott, W. Lawrence A. Scott, Jamahl S. Simmons, Scott A. Simmons, Ben A. Smith, H. Kim E. Swan, Neville S. Tyrrell, Michael A. Weeks, Kim N. Wilson.

Senators Present: Senator The Honourable President Mrs. J.E. Dillas-Wright, Crystal C. Caesar, Vance M.E. Campbell, Jason P. Hayward, James S. Jardine, Marcus J.A. Jones, T. Nick Kempe, H. Anthony Richardson, Dwayne V. Robinson, Kathy L. Simmons, W. Michelle P. Simmons,

10:10 a.m

Prayers

(MR. D.V. BURGESS in the Chair as the Acting Speaker)

Announcements by the Speaker or Member presiding.

House observed a minute of silence for the late C. Walton Brown, JP, MP.

10:15 a.m. – Tribute by the Acting Speaker of the House of Assembly, Hon. Derrick V. Burgess, JP, MP

10:19 a.m. – Tribute by the President of the Senate, Sen. The Hon. Joan. Dillas-Wright, MBE, JP

10:23 a.m. – Tribute by the Premier of Bermuda, Hon. E. David Burt, JP, MP

10:30 a.m. – Tribute by the Opposition Leader, Hon. L. Craig Cannonier, JP, MP

10:35 a.m. – Tribute by L.F. FOGGO

10:47 a.m. – Tribute by L.K. SCOTT

10:52 a.m. – Tribute by W.M. CAINES

11:00 a.m. - Tribute by M.A. WEEKS

11:08 a.m. - Tribute by M.H. DUNKLEY

11:14 a.m. – Tribute by J.S. SIMMONS

11:20 a.m. - Tribute by S.D. RICHARDS

11:25 a.m. – MR. ACTING SPEAKER acknowledged the presence of Former Deputy Speaker, Mr. W.M. Lister and Former MP, Mr. Marc Pettingill

11:26 a.m. - Tribute by R.P. COMMISSIONG

11:35 a.m. - Tribute by B.A. SMITH

11:40 a.m. - Tribute by M.J. SCOTT

11:50 a.m. – Tribute by P.J. GORDON-PAMPLIN

11:55 a.m. - Tribute by S.A. SIMMONS

12:04 p.m. - Tribute by SEN. W.M.P. SIMMONS

12:10 p.m. - Tribute by W.H. ROBAN

12:30 p.m. - Tribute by W.L. SCOTT

12:39 p.m. - Tribute by H.K. SWAN

12:46 p.m. - Tribute by N.S. TYRRELL

12:52 p.m. - Tribute by T.S. FURBERT

12:58 p.m. - Tribute by R.D.L. MING

1:09 p.m. - Tribute by W.L. FURBERT

1:19 p.m. - Tribute by SEN. C.C. CAESAR

1:29 p.m. - Tribute by SEN. K.L. SIMMONS

1:32 p.m.

MR. E.D.G. BURT moved that, at its rising, the House adjourn to Friday, 1st November 2019, which was agreed to.

MR. E.D.G. BURT moved that the House do now adjourn, which was agreed to.

The House adjourned until Friday, 1st November 2019 at 10:00 a.m.